Awards Banquet

The Georgetown Skating Club's 12th Annual Awards Banquet was held on Sunday May 6th, 2018, at the Senior Centre. The Banquet highlighted the success of the past season at the Georgetown Skating club with the celebration event being attended by present and past members and their families.

Awards and skating club trophies were presented at the banquet for achievements at all skating levels including CanSkate, PowerSkate and STARSkate and dedicated volunteerism to our club.

The following trophies and awards were presented at the 12th Annual Banquet, for achievements during the 2017/2018 skating season:

Skate Canada Achievement Awards

CanSkater of the Year Award

Rory Madill

Skate Canada Program Assistant Award

Hannah Borotsik

Skate Canada STARSkate Athlete Award
Angelina Avanessian
Skate Canada Volunteer Award
Victoria Cockburn
Skate Canada Club Coach Award of Excellence
Nicole Hehn

Skate Canada Volunteer Coach Recognition Award
Vicki Newman

PowerSkater of the Year Awards

CanPower Skater of the Year
Xander Venne and Cassie Hoerig
Gushue Family MVP of the Year

Jason Collis

CanSkate Achievement Awards
Completion of the CanSkate Program
Elizabeth Avanessian
Coraline Crawford
Olivia Long
Rory Madill
Julia Walsh
Jaden-Therese Leong
Maria Babiy

Welcome to PreJunior

Jaden-Therese Leong
Valerie Schumilin
Lyla Attard
Ainsley Fritzsch
Daniela Elwood
Reese Bellchamber
Ava Adzija
Emily Benford
Morgan Schruder
Julia Allegro
Kendra Menken

STARSkate Achievement Awards

Ronald Halligan Memorial Bowl - STARSkate One
Mya Bonus
Professional Coach's Trophy - STARSkate Two
Caitlin Scott
Executive Trophy - STARSkate Three
Emma deVries

Club Volunteer Awards

Honorary Membership
Ice Show Chair
Club Volunteer Award
Christina Papamichal

Club Spirit Award

50th Anniversary Bowl
  • CanPower – Mark Palasti
    CanSkate – Illias Tsoriakis
    StarSkate  – Julia Walsh, Reka Somogyi

Skate Canada Test Awards and Trophies

Sherk Family Trophy
Jaden-Therese Leong

Gail Verhaegan Trophy

1 Charlotte Davison
2 Rayna Chantrel
2 Mya Bonus
2 Taylor Johnson
2 Angelina Avanessian
3 Hannah Calvert
3 Kayla McEnery
3 Alexa Yanchus

Malatesta Achievement Cup
  • 1 Valerie Cascao
    1 Taylor Johnson
    2 Angelina Avanessian
    3 Phoebe Miksic
Nixdorf Family Trophy
  • 1 Alana Carras
    2 Leah-Sophie O'Meara
    3 Emma deVries
    3 Sophia Succo

Bill Smeaton Memorial Trophy
  • 1 Reka Somogyi
    1 Emma deVries
    2 Victoria Nowak
    2 Sophia Succo
    3 Kenda Oribhabor
    3 Lindsey Russell

Rees Challenge Cup

30th Anniversary Bowl
  • 1 Victoria Nowak
    2 Madelyn Gander
    2 Azlynn Russell
    2 Emma deVries

Gold Blades Trophy
1 Hannah Borotsik
2 Emma deVries
3 Azlynn Russell
3 Madelyn Gander
President's Cup
1 Emma deVries
2 Taylor Johnson
3 Angelina Avanessian